Finding the Inner Calm

Posted on August 28, 2012

0


I admit it.  I go, go, go.  I have lots of energy, and it is hard for me to relax.  To sit and do nothing is near impossible.  Yet, I know that I should be relaxing more.  Doing nothing.  Nothing?  Well, not nothing  but maybe meditating.

Studies and people who practice meditation will tell you about the benefits.  There are so many reasons to practice meditation.  Yet, I struggle to do it.  Instead, I fill my day with activity after activity.

Diabetic or not, I need to slow down.  I need to give meditation another try.

I practiced meditation when I was going thru fertility challenges years ago.  Loved it.  Looked forward to the class because it calmed me down.  Put me in a state of relaxation and peacefulness.  I walked away feeling amazing.

Ahh…Which is why I  need to start up again.  Reduce stress. Calm down.  Relax. Reenergize.  Find that inner peace.  Just a few wonderful benefits that I personally recall.

So I am going to give meditation another try.  Why don’t you join me?

Since, I don’t much about meditation, I thought it wise to bring in someone who actually practices it – Pamela Hernandez.  Pamela is a lifestyle and weight management coach who gets amazing results.  So here are her insights and recommendations for bringing a bit of meditation into your life:

1.  What drew you to meditation? I, as my husband says, have 2 speeds – stop and go. I needed a way to help bring some calm to my life.

2.  How long have you been practicing meditation? Off and on, for years. During the Summer of Bliss Challenge (by bliss.com) I made it a goal to meditate daily. I didn’t quite hit that goal, but 3-4 times a week is a big improvement.

3.  How did you learn to meditate? Books and audio. I learn well on my own. I actually have The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Meditation. I also have podcasts and Cds with guided meditations.

4.  What have been the benefits of meditating? Calm, stress reduction and focus. When I get overwhelmed and scattered, it helps bring me back to what’s really important at that moment. It gives me clarity.

5.  Do you believe meditating helps your diabetes?  Please elaborate?  (i.e. How long have you been diabetic?  Did you start meditating because of your diabetes?) Anything that reduces stress helps my diabetes. Stress drives my blood sugar up. I’ve been diabetic since I was 10 but my stress level hit new heights when I started my business in 2009. Just 5 minutes of focused breathing can help my heart rate come down and my body relax.

6.  Please describe the effects of meditating.  Short and long term. Short term – clarity and calm. Long term – retaining my sanity. :)

7.  Is it hard to sit down, relax, focus, breathe and meditate?  Please provide tips on how you do it? It is very hard. Like exercise for many, it just seems like a luxury there is more time for. However, I find that if I do take just 5 minutes I can concentrate better, deal with “curve balls” and get an attitude adjustment that makes the rest of the day more positive and productive.

8.  More recommendations on getting started would be great.  Classes?  CDs?  Podcasts are great as well as apps. Or just breath. I tell clients sit in a quite place and breath in for 4 and out for 6. It can have quite an amazing effect.

9.  Can you share a simple meditation technique with us? End each day with gratitude. Before bed, give thanks for what you say, heard, felt, tasted and smelled.

10.  What is your favorite thing about meditation? My shoulder drop down from my ears. :) I hold all my stress in my shoulders.

11.  In one sentence, why should we meditate? Why shouldn’t we – any moment of calm in our chaotic lives is a positive thing.

Thank you so much Pamela!

Go and meditate people…so good for you…I am going to give it a try too!

