Welcome to Totally Diabetic

Posted on April 28, 2011

0


Running a 5K

I decided to start Totally Diabetic a few weeks ago when I was out for a run.  Having lost my marketing job, I decided it was time to do what I loved.  Well, I love talking about my diabetes, running, eating healthy (most of the time), interacting with people, and enjoying life. 

So I realized a blog would allow me to talk about diabetes, share my life and passions.  This blog will share stories about my life with diabetes and hopefully provide you with inspiration, courage, hope, and information.  It is not meant to take the place of your doctor but rather to give you insight into the life of a fellow diabetic.

Having been a type 1 diabetic for 38 years (diagnosed at age 4), I will admit that having diabetes is not always easy.  It can be challenging, and I will openly share the challenges.  But everyone has challenging moments and days – even non diabetics.  To be honest, I tend to learn the most from the challenges.  They have made me a stronger and more adaptable person.

And instead of letting diabetes bring me down, I have decided to view diabetes as a gift.  A gift that has taught me so much about myself and life.   This is not a gift that I can exchange, so I might as well treasure it. 

I have chosen to do all I can to live a healthy and fulfilling life even with diabetes.  It may take a little more discipline, planning, patience, and trial and error exercises, but in the end, I am living a great life.  And I am proud to be Totally Diabetic! 

So join me!  You too can live a great life with diabetes:)

Posted in: Uncategorized