1:49 Diabetics Can Do It!

Posted on May 2, 2011

0


Post Race

The Fanny Pack
Stuff for the Infamous Fanny Pack

Woo Hoo!  I am a few days behind, but I wanted to share some good news.  I finished the Louisville Derby Fest Half Marathon on Saturday….and did it in under 2 hours – 1:49. 

I am excited for a few reasons.  First of all, I beat my time from last year by two minutes, and secondly, I proved to myself (and others) that diabetics can do anything they want to do.

 Okay.  Let’s talk about the pictures I have included.  No one at the end of the race had a camera (except the professional photographers) and when I finally got home, I just wanted a hot shower.  So the photo of me with my medal is post race (at home).

And then there is a photograph of my good ole fanny pack.  I found this fanny pack for $5 on amazon and decided to get it for the race. When I run 6 miles or less, I carry a small little pouch in my hand (with my phone and orange candies).  However, when I run more then 6 miles, I use a fanny pack and load her up with: orange candies (chewy and easy to swallow without water), glucose tabs (need water or gatorade to wash them down), mini blood testing machine, blood testing strips, lancets, my liscense, phone, and gluten free snickerdoodles by Enjoy Life.  Whew!  That is a lot of gear.  But  I need it.  Check out the photograph.

And here is how it played out (keep in mind this is what works for me – everyone is different and please follow your doctor’s recommendations):

Day of the Race/Half Marathon:

5am:  wake up and drink some water.  Test my blood sugar.  It is 123.  I always get up early.  Nerves are going, and I just want to get moving.

6:30 am:  test again.  Blood sugar is 118.  Set my basal at 50% the normal rate for two hours.  Race starts at 7:30.  I go potty and head to the race.

7:00 am:  at the start of the race.  Test blood sugar again.  125.  Basal rate is still at 50% what I normally take.  This rate will continue for another hour and a half.  I eat 10 carbs (Snickerdoodle cookie).  Have to eat gluten free because I have recently developed what they believe is an intolerance to gluten. 

7:25 am:  feeling good.  always a bit nervous at the start of  a race because you never know. 

7:30 am:  we are off and running.  and running.  and running. 

8:20 am:  i eat an orange soft jelly candy from Walgreens.  13 carbs (pure sugar) in each one.  It tastes so good.  I also, have been getting sips of water at every other water station.  I never drink tons of water while running the race.  10 more minutes of 50% basal then back to my normal 100% basal of .3.

9:19 am:  the finish line is in sight.  They announce my name.  I am done and feel really good.  Yay!  Woo Hoo! 

I proceed through the finish area and grab a banana and water.  Life is good.  I am a bit tired but in a good way.  I get over to the side and test my bloodsugar.  132.  Good.  I did it!  We all can do whatever we want to do, diabetes and all.  We cannot neglect our diabetes, but we can work with it.  Anything is possible and don’t forget that.

Let me know how you exercise with your diabetes?  What do you do (walking, jogging, swimming, playing with your kids, etc.)?  How do you plan/prepare?  Or if you don’t exercise, why not?  I know some diabetics who are afraid to exercise.  And that is okay too.  Let me know your thoughts.  I want to hear from you.  And remember, please follow the advice of your physician.  Each and every one is unique.  So we have to craft what works for us with the help of our health care professionals.

Posted in: Uncategorized