Summer Pumping

Posted on May 4, 2011

0


My Paradigm Pump

Summer will be here soon.  It is suppose to be in the 90’s here next week.  Yay!  I love the warm weather. 

So, in preparation for summer and taking my kiddos to the pool, I have been thinking a lot about the insulin pump situation.  Currently, I wear a Medtronic Minimed Paradigm (see the picture) and have been happy with their pumps for the last 8 years.  

Until last summer when we started going to the pool more often.  You cannot get the Paradigm wet, so I have to take it off when I shower, swim, etc.  

Picture this..We would arrive at the pool with a cooler in tow.  No biggie since I would pack snacks, drinks, and lunch.  Included in the cooler was a one of the deli meat plastic containers (washed) with a few baggies.  When I wanted to get in the pool, I took off the pump, placed it in a baggie, then placed the baggie in the deli meat tupperware container, then placed that in the cooler.  I could go “unhooked” for about 30 minutes, then I had to get out and hook the pump back up for at least 30 minutes.  Once the pump was back on, I had to place it in another baggie to ensure my  wet swimsuit did not get the pump wet. 

Whew!  At first it seemed like a lot work for a 30 minute swim, but after being in the hot sun for awhile, I could not wait to get back in the pool and do it all over again.

Now that summer is on the horizon, I have been thinking about what to do this summer.  Maybe trying to get a waterproof pump would be a lot easier. 

The research has begun.  My pump warrantly does not expire until September 2011 after the pool closes.  Medtronic is supposedly working on a waterproof pump but nothing on the market  yet.  Soon?  But I have heard that Animas offers a special program where you can exchange your current pump (any brand) for an Animas Ping if you pay $200. 

Animas Ping looks good online.  The basal increments actually go to .025 which would be great for me when running.  The Ping “listens” to the One Touch meter, and I am a big fan of One Touch.  Still looking good.

Here is the Ping’s  website if you want to check it out:

http://www.animas.com/animas-insulin-pumps/onetouch-ping

Only downside I see (assuming my insurance will cover the supplies) is Animas Ping does not have Real Time yet.  Yet being the key word.  I hear it is the works.  And to be honest, I am currently not using the Real Time with the Paradigm because my insurance will not cover it.  Would love to have it though, especially when exercising. 

But, I will take what I can get.  If anyone is using the Animas Ping please let me know your thought and recommendations?  I need to make a decision soon.

And I did try going back on shots last summer in case any of you are wondering.  That lasted only a few days.  With running and biking and all the other activities, I really struggled to maintain my blood sugar levels.  I was bottoming out too much.  Wish it would have worked at least for the summer. 

That’s all the pumping talk for now. 

Have a great day!

Posted in: Uncategorized