Chocolate. Diabetic. Wheat. Diet.

Posted on May 5, 2011

0


Hello everyone –

chocolate kisses to all diabetics

What to eat?  The question of the moment.  It is lunch time, I just finished a hard spin workout, and I am hungry.  What to eat?  Definitely need some carbs and protein.  Healthy choices would be good.  Even though we all deviate from that now and again.  We are human.  Diabetic, but human.

I, also, have been questioning whether or not I have an intolerance to wheat and/or gluten.  The doctors are questioning it too.  The celiac blood test and biopsy came back negative.  Gastroenterologist thinks I have a sensitive stomach.  Endocrinologist thinks I have a gluten intolerance.  And the allergist confirmed I am allergic to barley, potatoes, and strawberries. 

I tried the gluten free diet for 6 weeks, and at first my stomach settled down, and I felt great.  And then week 6 we went back to some bloating again.  Hmmm..Could it be gastroparesis?  The doctors do not think so but are gonna test me just to make sure.  That scares me a little bit.  But I don’t want to worry about it until I get some more answers.  Luckily, I feel great for the most part and it is not impacting my health dramatically.  More of a nuisance more than anything else.   I need to be better about keeping a food diary.

Like diabetes, GI health is not a hard core science.  We are all different.  There is a lot of trial and error in trying to master our bodies and the signs our bodies send us.  That is why I am a big believer in listening to my body.  Diabetics have to tune in to their bodies.  We have to pay attention to how we feel, recognizing when something is out of synch. In a way, it is a pretty cool concept.  By tuning in, we are able to take better care of ourselves.  And short term and long term, this makes a huge difference in our health.

My stomach is talking to me.  I need to listen.  What does my body (and mind) want for lunch.  The answer is brown rice bread, turkey, mayo with olive oil, yogurt, and a peach.  And for dessert, a Hershey dark chocolate kiss.  I love my hugs and treat myself to a couple every day.  We all deserve treats in moderation. 

But, and this is a big but.  Be sure to talk to your doctor or dietician/nutritionist about what are you eating, especially if you want to add in a few small treats.  Get clearance from them and make sure to account for treats when bolusing/giving insulin.  Too much fat and/or sugar is not good for anyone.  I combine the Hershey kiss with a fiberous meal with protein.  

Think about what you are eating.  How is your body responding to what you eat?  Your diet should fuel your body, mind, and spirit.  Food gives  us energy.  And don’t forget to drink water.  Water, water, water. 

I am starving.  Off to eat.  Chocolate kisses to my fellow diabetics!

Have a good day!

