I am So Frustrated

Posted on May 19, 2011

0


Okay.  Normally, I am a very positive person.   I love life and live it to the fullest.  Ya, ya, ya.  But, today I am so frustrated.  I am sick and tired of having a bloated belly.  I look and feel pregnant (especially in the evenings), but I am not pregnant.  And yes, I have done a test just to make sure.

No seriously, I guess my frustration comes from the unknown.  I have had every GI, allergy, and endocrinology test out there.  Luckily, there is nothing seriously wrong (thank God).  I am so relieved and happy about that.   And maybe I should just be thankful and let it go. 

But, my body is obviously reacting to food, fiber, bacteria, lack of enzymes, something.  The “something” part is what drives me crazy.  The doctors do not know, and I do not know.   Does anyone know?

Gluten free diets and lactose free diets provided relief at first, but then we were back to square one.  Ughhhhh…  Increased fiber and water seemed to exacerbate the problem.  What to eat?  What not to eat?

My impatience is part of the problem, and I acknowledge that.  I want “stuff” to work immediately.  If I don’t see results, then on to the next thing.  Four weeks into a diet, if I am not seeing results, I move on. 

Would I do this with my diabetes?  Simply move on?  At least with my diabetes, I have a diagnosis and have been given resources to treat it.  I can test whenever I want and see an immediate result – a number.  I can treat a high with a correction bolus, or a low with  glucose.  Granted,  there are up and down moments, but I know what to do.  And if I don’t, my endocrinologist does.   We are in control.  

With this bloated belly issue, I have been told maybe it is gluten intolerance, lactose intolerance, IBS, constipation, or just a nervous stomach.  A nervous stomach?  What is that? 

So I guess, I need to put my frustration towards finding an answer – taking control.  I have scoured the internet looking for similar stories.  The causes and solutions are many.   Maybe I should just focus on me.  Tune into my body and really listen (like I do with my diabetes).  Keep a food diary (I have attempted this but did not stick to it), and make note of how my belly feels throughout the day.  Actually write it all down. 

I have thought about seeking the help of a nutritionist, but my insurance does not cover it, and their hourly rates are pretty high.  I may need to suck it up and invest in my health.

More than anything, belly bloat is an uncomfortable nuisance.  Fortunately, it is not life threatening.  However, I need the bloat to go away.  There has to be a cause behind the symptom.  Finding answers may take time and dedication, but so does my diabetes.  I have never walked away from my diabetes.  Are there enough hours in the day for all of this?  A little bit of sarcasm there. 

Yes, my health is the number one priority.  I need to make the time.  This may become a long term situation, working hand in hand with my diabetes.  Good health equals quality of life.  I have done so much to keep my diabetes well controlled (and it has paid off) so now it is time to really focus on my belly (while still respecting my diabetes). 

That is what I will do. 

Whew!  Guess I just needed to vent.  Bloated belly, I will take care of you no matter what.  And we will find answers.  Soon….

Thank you for letting me vent.  I feel better.  Will keep you bloated.  I meant posted!

