Sugar Me Up. Diabetics have cravings too.

Posted on May 20, 2011

8


I love chocolate!

I believe the best way to live life is to eat whatever you want in moderation.  Yes, everything.  Yes,  in moderation.   

What does this mean?  For me, it depends on the day, the situation.  Maybe I have a couple Hershey Dark Chocolate Kisses with oatmeal after a long run.  Or a glass of wine with dinner.  A cup of pasta with salad for lunch.  A scoop of ice cream for a snack.  The point is, I do not deprive myself of anything, including sugar.  Yes, I eat sugar and compensate for it with an appropriate bolus. 

Now am I not saying go out there and eat ice cream and candy and high glycemic carbs like a crazy person.  No.  Of course not.  I am saying, that when I deprive myself of “things” the cravings get even greater.  I listen to what my body is saying, wanting,  needing, craving.  And then I think about it and react. 

Sitting down and eating a whole  pint of Ben and Jerry’s chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream sounds wonderful.  But, I know that one to two hours later I would be so regretting it.  Instead, I have a little bit.  Having 1/2 a cup satisfies me, and I can move on.  I am content.

People talk about trigger foods.  Foods that they just cannot keep in their house because they will eat the whole bag, box, or carton in one sitting.  Fortunately, I do not have any trigger foods.  I wonder if it is because I allow myself to eat everything in moderation?  I don’t deny myself foods/drinks, and therefore, I never feel guilty.

Ironically, when I give myself permission to eat “whatever”, I actually start to crave the healthy “stuff” too.  It ends up being a win win for me.  My mind, stomach, spirit, and diabetes are all happy. 

Here's to chocolate!

Living with diabetes is challenging enough.  We are human beings and need to include treats with our healthy diet.  Balance.  Moderation.  Happiness. 

Happy chocolate to all!

