Trying and Hoping to live with Diabetes

Posted on June 20, 2011

2


I met a man this morning whose daughter died from diabetes at 30 years old.  30 years old.  Way too young.  Way too sad.  Why?  Why had diabetes taken the life of this young woman?

This story bothered me all day long.  I thought a lot about living as a diabetic myself.  As a child, the doctors always told my parents “you will be lucky if she lives to the age of 20”.  I am now 42.  And I hope to be around for many more years.  

But for many diabetics, life is cut short. More people die from diabetes than breast cancer and AIDS combined.  Stunning.  Shocking.  Sad.

So what are we to do?  I don’t want to be another sad and shocking statistic.   Instead, I want to do all I can to help myself and others – those with diabetes and those who may not be diagnosed yet (yet being the key word here). 

What can I do?  What can we all do?  What will make a difference in our lives and the lives of diabetics around the world? 

Awareness.  Education.  Research.  Wellness.  Resources.  Support.   The list goes on. 

All the above play a role in stopping and controlling diabetes. 

We are all responsible for diabetes one way or another.  Those of us with diabetes live with it 24/7.  We know about the risks, complications, challenges, and the all the “things” we have to do to stay as healthy as possible.    

I have come to the conclusion that I owe it to myself (and others) to do everything in my power to try and hope.  That’s right.  Try and hope. 

Try to live a healthy life.  Take care of myself.  Be a healthy diabetic.  Exercise.  Eat healthy.  Rest.  Take my meds.  Test my blood sugar.  Go to the doctors. 

Try to help others with diabetes.  Offer support and resources.  Volunteer.  Fundraise.  Teach.  Create awareness.  Listen. 

And hope, hope, hope.  Hope the staggering number of people being diagnosed with diabetes goes down.   Hope that the sombering number of those dying from diabetes drastically drops.  And hope that those currently living with diabetes  will have very long and fulfilling lives. 

So let’s do it.  Start with yourself and then reach out to others.  Every little thing we do helps.  

Thanks so much for trying and hoping. .Help me get the momentum going.

And my momentum will be dedicated to the woman I heard about this morning.  In honor of her and her family…

