Crisis Mode

Posted on July 6, 2011

6


You know, there is something that truly happens when you hit your 40’s.  Many people refer to it as “MidLife Crisis”, but I prefer to call it my “Midlife Challenge.”  Crisis just seems so harsh and scary.  Which at times, life is.  Challenge has a softer edge though.

When I first start writing this post it was going to be about my midlife challenge.  Coming to terms with the changes I want to incorporate into my life.  Going back to work, finding more me time, etc. etc. 

But as I started thinking, trying to write, and thinking, I soon realized that I kept going back to the word crisis.  It had struck a chord with me in more than one way.  And things happen for a reason. 

When at the gym yesterday, I shared with a personal trainer how I was ready to go back to work.  I had been a stay at home mom off and on for 7 years, and I was ready.  Ready to?  Ready to inspire and motivate diabetics.  Talk to them about creating wellness and living a great life with diabetes.  Helping them to overcome all the obstacles that were preventing them from living a great life. 

Immediately she said, “Inspire diabetics?   I hate to ruin your plans, but the diabetics who need the most inspiration are the ones always in crisis mode.  You will make no money and will be disappointed in their lack of wanting your help.  Do not go down that path.  Work with other types of people.  Not diabetics.”

“The diabetics I tried to work with would whine, cry, and stop showing up.  It was a waste of my time.  They did not care.”

Wow.  I was stunned.  And this personal trainer knows I am a diabetic.  Was she trying to protect me?  Being realistic?

Always in crisis mode?  This personal trainer does not have diabetes.  She has no idea what it is like living with diabetes.  Yet, she was quick to judge based on her limited exposure.

Did she stop to think that maybe these diabetics were afraid, angry, exhausted, and emotionally unable to handle her personal training routine? 

They truly may have been in a harsh crisis mode.  Crisis because they were unable to live the life they wanted with diabetes.  Overwhelmed by high blood sugars, fear, low blood sugars, diet regiments, complications, and the unknown. 

With diabetics (with anyone), wellness starts from the inside out.  There is no sense talking about walking, lifting weights, and  healthy diets if inside the person is not ready. 

Depression and feelings of being overwhelmed are so common in people with diabetes.  I have been there myself.  Days were getting out of bed was a challenge, never mind going for a run or lifting some weights.  But it does not have to last forever.  It may not be easy, but there are ways to hope, cope,  and overcome the emotional and physical lows.  

Every single diabetic can find wellness.  You can do it.  We can all do it together.  I don’t care what that personal trainer thinks.  I am diabetic.  I have been in crisis mode.  Yet, I survived.  I am healthy and believe in wellness.  Which is why, I want to help others do the same. 

So perhaps my midlife crisis leads to helping diabetics overcome a wellness crisis.  Turning crisises into challenges.  And challenges into wellness.  Which in turn leads to feelings of health and happiness.

Get motivated!  Be well everyone! 

 

 

