Is Diabetes a Mindset?

Posted on February 9, 2012

4


 

Is diabetes a mindset? 

Do our thoughts about diabetes have an impact on our health, our diabetes?  Of course.

I truly believe they do.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the negativity of living with diabetes.  Especially on those days when diabetes is just a pain (literally and figuratively):  high blood sugars ,low blood sugars, insulin pump is not working, etc.  You know the moments.  The days.  And nights.

But (and let me emphasize but), the moments do not last forever.  Blood sugars stabilize after a correction or a snack.  Insulin pumps gets fixed.  Life goes on.  Doesn’t it?  Yes.  The flow of life may get disrupted and a little rough at times, but that is part of life.  For everyone.  We all have challenges, and one of mine just happens to be diabetes. 

These diabetic disruptions are impacted by the way I respond to them.  I can make the experience good or bad.  It is my choice.  For example, I have found that if I address those unsettling moments, feel the pain/frustration/anger, and then let it go; everything becomes so much easier.  And better.  I am able to continue moving forward.  Living.  Shifting to the good stuff.  Putting the disruptions on the back burner.  They happened.  I dealt with it.  Time to move on.  My diabetes is still with me (always with me), but in a much better place. 

Is it always easy?  No.  Worth it?  Yes.

For example, my high and low blood sugars usually happen when I am in the middle of something:  helping the kids, working on a project, at their school, running, or just trying to get stuff done.  Then again, I guess there never is an ideal time for low or high blood sugars, pump malfunctions, etc. 

I can’t ignore what is going on when my diabetes rebels. But my reactions to the situation can have an impact on how I feel.  When my blood sugars are high or low, I am already feeling “off”.  So why intensify the situation.  Instead, I take the necessary steps to rectify the situation, and then I go back to what I was doing (if I can).  Taking my mind off the high or low blood sugars and the associated feelings and emotions. Focusing on something new.  And good.  Positivity.

Now, there are times when I am wiped and just need to sit down and do nothing following a low or high blood sugar.  And that is fine too.  The point is, I am not lingering in the frustration of diabetes.  I am not ignoring the situation.  I am removing the negativity that can pull me down even further and choosing to continue on with the day. 

Essentially, a minset is in play.  Unable to sometimes control my diabetes, I take the necessary action steps and take control of my thoughts which affect how I feel. 

I take control of my life.  And that is the most important thing of all.  Being in control.  Living.  With diabetes.

Stay positive everyone and have a great day!

Michele  

 

 

 

 

Posted in: Uncategorized