Pizza!!! Yum!

Posted on March 7, 2012

1


Who doesn’t like pizza?

I love it!  Which is why I wanted to share a great recipe that I use all the time.  And, you can make pizza healthy.  Yes, healthy.  Here’s how:

1.  I am including a recipe for the pizza dough.  Easy, just takes a bit of time for the dough to rise and rest.  But sooo worth it.  You can use wheat flour in the recipe too.  Start with 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and see what you think.

2.  Use reduced fat cheese.  And you don’t have to plaster the pizza with cheese.  A little cheese goes a long way.  Sprinkle the cheese on.  Yes, sprinkle.

3.  Healthy toppings are so good.  Try:  sundried tomatoes, turkey pepperoni, mushrooms (I cook these ahead in a frying pan with Pam), brocolli, onions (I precook these), red peppers, green peppers, spinach, and the list goes on.  Be adventurous.

4.  I use the spaghetti sauce (see my post on Italian Food night) for pizza sauce.  But you can, also, use premade sauce.  Just watch the sugar content on pizza and pasta sauce.

Here is the dough recipe (I am craving pizza now):

3 teaspoons active dry yeast

1 cup warm water divided

2 tablespoons canola oil (I use Smart Balance oil)

1 teaspoon each of sugar and salt

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in 1/4 cup warm water.  Add sugar.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  Add the salt, oil, remaining water and 2 cups of flour.  Beat until smooth.  Stir in enough remaining flour to form a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic  – about 6-8 minutes (do not do less than this). Place in a greased bowl (I use olive oil to grease the bowl).  Turn the dough once to grease top.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled (about 40 minutes).  I put it in the oven (oven is not on).

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Punch dough down.  Turn onto a lightly floured surface.  Pat dough flat.  Let rest for 5 minutes.  Press into a greased 14 inch pizza pan ( I use olive oil to grease the pan).  Top with sauce, cheese (not too much), and other items (veggies, turkey pepperoni), etc.

Bake at 450 for 15 to 20 minutes.  Serve warm.  It may take a bit longer than 20 minutes depending on the toppings you use.

Enjoy!

